Paradise is the African American community of Fort Mill established in 1895 where former slaves settled and became teachers, masons, merchants, and entrepreneurs. The community's educational and social centerpiece was George Fish School which opened in 1925 as the town’s all-black public school. The school was partly funded by the Julius Rosenwald Fund, and named for George Fish, Superintendent of Springs Cotton Mill Plants No. 1 and No. 2, who advocated for the brick structure design to ensure that equal quality schools were being built for the black community. A monument and a historical marker commemorating the location of the school are located at 401 Steele Street.
Additional information regarding the Paradise Community can be found in the J.B. Mills gallery of the Fort Mill History Museum. The museum, which is free to the public, tells the story of Fort Mill’s rich history and is in downtown Fort Mill at 107 Clebourne Street.